Dear Fee,

     Right about now you should be sleeping on Christmas Eve.  I am sure that the proverbial “Visions of Sugarplums” are dancing in  your head.   Hopefully you will only get up once (or less) during the night so you won’t catch Santa Father Christmas at his business!

Fee - Christmas Eve

     You and your parents have already been counting down on the Advent calendar that we gave you.  I hope that you will be using it for years to come! By now Mary and Joseph are in place,  just waiting for the baby Jesus to join them.  I think that you have probably listened to the books that Poppa and I recorded for you when you were here in November.  “The Night Before Christmas” and the Christmas Story have always been a part of your Mama’s Christmas Eve tradition and I am happy that we could be a part of it even if we aren’t there.
     I have to say that I am pretty excited for your first Christmas.  Even though I can’t be there to share it with you and your Mama and Daddy, I remember the days when Poppa and I were just starting out our own family Christmases. It was a wonderful time of new beginnings, and new traditions.
     I am pretty new at this Gram thing, but I already decided that Poppa and I would start a new tradition with you.  We are going to celebrate the 12 days of Christmas, beginning with Jesus’ birthday tomorrow and ending with Three King’s Day on Epiphany, January 6.  We intend to give you one small gift each day in anticipation of that big event. You will receive your “big gift” on that day. It is my hope that one day I will live in Mexico and you can join me for the festivities there!
     I have had this idea for a while – mostly because of my love of the Latin culture – and wanted Poppa and I to start it for our grandchildren. Mind you, you are probably getting the best of it…by the time you have six cousins the first eleven presents will probably be VERY small, or we will go broke! Enjoy being the first – it is a special honor. it’s really not about the presents anyways, is it? It is more about the story and the anticipation, and the love that Jesus promised us all.
     I think that in your house Christmas will be quite different than it was in your Mama’s house.  For one thing, your Daddy will always have to work on Christmas.  This is probably a very good thing, because it will keep you all focused on the real reason that we celebrate the holiday.  I am afraid that over the years, I have not been very good at “keeping Advent” and remembering the reason for the season.  I hope that your family will always have that focus that we lacked.
     I hope that we get a chance to visit a little tomorrow, but if I don’t talk to you, know that I will be thinking of you.  Have a very Happy Christmas, my sweetheart. My heart is with you even if I am not.
Love and kisses,
Gram
5 thoughts on “Dear Fee,

    1. Oh I didn’t mean to make you cry. Be happy and remember all the fun of Christmas! There are a LOT of funny things that have happened over the years…just laugh about them. =) Love and miss you….we will see you soon!

  1. IT’S A HARD THING NOT BEING ABLE TO BE WITH OUR GRANDCHILDREN ON THE H
    OLIDAYS. I HAVE SEVEN AND ONLY LIVE NEAR ONE. MY GRANDSON IN SEATTLE HAS BRITTLE BONE DISEASE AND ABOUT A WEEK AND A HALF AGO WAS PLAYING( HE’S TWO) AND MOVED JUST THE WRONG WAY AND BROKE HIS LEG( FOR THE THIRD TIME) AND IS IN A FULL LEG CAST. IT TORE ME APART BECAUSE I COULDN’T BE THERE WITH HIM AND HIS BIG SISTER. MERRY CHRISTMAS. ALSO I LOVE THE IDEA ABOUT THE SMALL GIFT EACH DAY ENDING WITH THE BIG ONE. I WAS TELLING MY MOM YESTERDAY ABOUT YOUR LITTLE FEE, AND MOM SADLY SIGHED AND SAID PRUDY IS SMILING DOWN UPON HER. MOM AND YOUR MOM WENT TO SCHOOL TOGETHER.

    1. Thanks, Teresa! It is hard being so far away. Thanks goodness for the computer!! I am sorry to hear about your Grandson, that is terrible. 😦 And I do know that my mother would have loved our Fee. I am sad that she never got to meet her.

Welcome, please leave a comment and let me know what you think!

