Catching up…

Coffee cup, desk, StarbucksSaturday morning…no real plan…that is the way I like to start my weekend.

The past two months have been a flurry of “getting ready”, “the gangs all here” and “wow, I can’t believe it is over”.  We finished the main work of the Master Bedroom reno, new ceiling, insulation, carpeting and all.  We had a wonderful time visiting with all of our children and our lovely Fee.  Lots of relatives stopped by to say hello, we endured the rainy weeks surrounding the Fourth of July, and we discovered that it really IS fun to be grandparents. Far too many craft beers were consumed, but lots of laughs (and a few tears) were had.

I am hoping that the next few weeks will allow us to enjoy my favorite season of the year.  I am wishing for hot days and summer sun. I want to quietly barbecue dinners on the deck and enjoy my morning coffee on the porch.  I hope to take “the boys” for a trip to Lake Erie to let them splash along the shoreline.  I plan on shopping for bits and pieces for the new bedroom and spending time at a few favorite summer haunts before they close for the season.

We will try to save the next big project for fall because these summer days are always brief and fast.  Our youngest will be starting her  Senior year of college very soon and the house will be completely quiet again, but that’s not such a bad thing.  We have issues with an aging parent to deal with that will certainly cause stress and anxiety, but today I refuse to think about it.

I intend to enjoy the summer day. Take a drive…go out for lunch…buy something I don’t really need.

I will leave you with a slide show of our summer so far here on the Hill (sorry for the poor quality – most are from my phone). Happy weekend, everyone!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome, please leave a comment and let me know what you think!

