Five Things

I am trying to refocus my energies lately, to become more mindful and appreciate my life as it is in this very moment.

Life is too short to be unhappy and discontent, so I need to take some time and reassess and think about who I am and what gives me peace.

I will start today by listing five things that make me happy right now:

1. A good, strong cup of coffee in a large red mug.Coffee cup, desk, Starbucks

2. The sun rising over the lake out the front window.photo (63)

3. The prospect of spending the day with my family at the fall fest.404608_4271376979370_1058414503_n

4. The photo of Fee on my desk, smiling at me while she holds her parents hands.Sophia-48

5. The boys sleeping quietly next to me as I write this post.photo (61)

I would love to hear about YOUR five things. Why not leave me a comment and tell me about them?

**Thanks to my fellow blogger Candice at WryGrass for helping me to get my act together today.

Go on over and check out her page…the photos are terrific!

12 thoughts on “Five Things

  1. Sometimes it’s hard to remember to live in the present. There is something to be said for a life with contentment. Today I am grateful for a son who takes my calls without complaining that he just talked to me two days ago. And for a husband who still thinks I’m the best thing that ever happened to him. (nuts, isn’t he?) I’m sure there are others, but that’s enough for now.

  2. Hmm okay… I’ll play. Five things right now at this moment… my morning coffee in my favorite mug… my cats nearby… being able to get my MIL a couple of things this morning… a clean slate to the day… looking forward to a day of getting things done around the house. Thanks, Cheri! And I hope your day is a good one 🙂

  3. My son does this with his kids every night at dinner…only his is three things. I love it!
    Today my five things would be (it’s early here)
    1. A dog who knows it’s Saturday and is content to sleep in next to me
    2. My husband bringing me coffee in bed
    3. All my Apple devices allowing me to read posts like yours
    4. The warm air and sunshine coming in through my open window
    5. Seeing the notification on my iPad that I just got an email from my son

    What a great way to start my Saturday off. Thank you!

  4. I am working on the very same thin, trying to be mindful and grateful and to notice all of the sweet little moments of life. And I have several of the same items on my list that you have on yours, including the big cup of strong coffee (flowered mug) and the two dogs sleeping beside me as I write! I will add the smell of the autumn woods coming in my window and the Red Sox playoff game tonight!

    1. I think when we get to a certain point in life it seems so much more important to take stock of the good things. I am glad that you stopped by and left me a comment today. It’s good to hear from you! I hope your team did well….I am not a baseball follower…I just nod and smile when my husband mentions it. I love to go to the games though. What a great place to people watch. 🙂

  5. My 5 things:
    1) Reading your post put a smile on my face!
    2) A rainy morning walk with an energetic puppy!
    3) A good night’s sleep!
    4) Having my housekeeping chores done for the day!
    5) Knowing I am seen and loved by God!

Welcome, please leave a comment and let me know what you think!

